For Amelia

Once upon a child,
I was awaken by a small voice.
It was 5AM and the voice said:
Papa, papa, it’s light already.
I would have tried to sleep again,
But got suddenly mistaken
For a horse, a pillow, and a trampoline.

One upon a child,
I was walking in the street
And a small voice told me:
I’m tired, I can’t walk anymore…
But she swiftly started running.
Some say truth comes from children’s mouth,
But I doubt there is a dragon in the park
Or a squirrel riding a bike.

Once upon a child,
It was lunch time
And I made spaghetti bolognaise.
Then, a small voice told me:
I don’t like it, I won’t eat it,
I want long pasta
Wiht tomato sauce and meat.

Once upon a child,
Soap bubbles were the entrance
Of a fantastic wonderland
Where you clap and dance,
And spill the bottle on the floor.
Each new word would lead to a new song,
Each new song raising new questions:
Why the sky is blue and fish living in water?
Why do I need to sleep
And why not dance for ever?
Why do you need to work
Instead of playing with me?
Why to make it so complicated?
Just take money from the cash machine!

Once upon a child,
A bookshelf would be a scary monster
Spreading its shadows over the room.
A bed time story would never be enough,
Neither two, nor three…
When all is dark, silent, and you ready to sleep,
You would urgently need to pee, to drink,
To hug and get another story.
I would be tired, expecting the evening,
But I would hug you and stay the time you need.
I love you…

ML (2017)

Laisser un commentaire

